Green Books Campaign: The Love-Powered Diet

100bloggers

This review is part of the Green Books campaign. Today 100 bloggers are reviewing 100 great books printed in an environmentally friendly way. Our goal is to encourage publishers to get greener and readers to take the environment into consideration when purchasing books. This campaign is organized by Eco-Libris, a green company working to green up the book industry by promoting the adoption of green practices, balancing out books by planting trees, and supporting green books. A full list of participating blogs and links to their reviews is available on Eco-Libris website.

Not expecting to take on a diet book as part of this campaign, I was pleasantly intrigued by the message of nutritionist and life coach Victoria Moran’s, “The Love Powered Diet: Eating for Freedom, Health and Joy.” The book is addressed to food addicts, who she defines as,

“any person of any body size who’s engaged in a longstanding battle with a knife and fork,”

as well as anyone who is interested in a more healthful, sustainable,  and happy life. Moran emphasizes the necessity for all readers to first love themselves in order to begin to see any effect from her diet or others, stating “It’s OK to feel beautiful right now. If you wait until you’re thin to feel beautiful, you may never get there.” Moran’s approach is to address how her diet-prone readers view both them self and food (as well as how they consume it) in order to “finally win the battle by giving up the fight.”

With the lose definition of ‘thin’ as, “having a body that serves you well so you can live freely without wishing you weighed less,” Moran supposes that if you love yourself enough, you’ll treat yourself as someone who is lovable, attractive, and thin by choosing the right foods and listening to your body. She gives witty, informed, socially concerned, and specific means to accomplish this coveted view of eating. And better yet, in doing so, readers learn to eat correctly for his or her body’s ideal weight, and eventually to achieve this goal.

Although it is a diet book, hers is not solely focused on food. This book also has a humanitarian and progressive message to correlate with her theme of love and new attitude toward food. Printing her book as part of the Green Press Initiative, publisher Lantern Books explains its commitment to the environment by not using fiber from ancient forests or any chlorine at the expense of printing slightly more expensive books. But the eco-focus of her book does not end there.

Overall, Moran presents a very sustainable and important notion of food. First, she stipulates that food is valuable and required hard human work to get it to whatever conditions it is in now for you to eat it, so be thankful. Next, that since it is about to become part of your physical body, you should be choosy about which foods (and how much, and how often) you decide to eat. Pay attention to labels and decide whether the avoidance of highly processed, high sodium, fat, and sugary foods are worth a few extra dollars and preparation minutes at meal times.

Her description of foods in the love-powered diet, the ones that make it so eating becomes less of a battle, and the ones who transform food addicts to someone approaches a food with a “take it or leave it” mentality, includes all the ingredients above: a healthy mind, approach, and plate.

This food, “is generous, delicious, and aesthetically pleasing.  It promotes high-level health as well as normal weight, it is economical and provides plenty for everybody, it respects all life, and is environmentally sustainable.”

Talk about setting the standards high! Thankfully, Moran gives detailed direction to make this description come to life and realizes that no one can achieve this without occasional mistake and exception. But, as she says, “a love-powered meal can be an effortless donation to a most deserving planet,” and that is certainly something for which to strive.

Throughout this semester, I have struggled to combine my “fooducation,” with my actual practice, AND with my view of what and how I should be eating in order to maintain or lose weight. This book tied together all three of these concerns, and because of this balance, has much to give. It is empowering, inspiring, and addresses much more about dieting than the desire to be thin, and has fundamentally changed my answers to the questions of what, how, and why I eat.

Image Credit: Susan Newman.

Tagged , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Green Books Campaign: The Love-Powered Diet

  1. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by jclynes: Green Books Campaign: The Love-Powered Diet: http://wp.me/pvRm2-4y

  2. Nicely said! Americans need to be more thoughtful about food – the amount and what they are eating to be healthy. Food can be great, often abused.

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jenny Lynes, Alex Vitale. Alex Vitale said: Green Books Campaign: The Love-Powered Diet: http://wp.me/pvRm2-4y (via @jclynes) […]

  4. […] Green Books Campaign: The Love-Powered Diet « Welcome to the Good Life […]

  5. janiec52 says:

    I’ve been looking for a good green reading list recently so I’m so happy that you posted about this.

    I struggle a lot with balancing eating healthy and eating whatever I want. This book sounds wonderful. I hate the idea of dieting and starving my body. It all seems so negative. The ideas in this book sound like exactly what I need. Thanks for the review!

  6. Waow loved reading your blogpost. I added your rss to my blogreader.

  7. Hi,

    Just Found this blogpost from my Technorati upcomming news event Story section. really interesting post , that’s why subscribed your RSS feeder, Hope you will add more usefull posts soon.

    Keep it Up.
    Angelina

  8. Hi,
    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.
    Regards,
    Jone

  9. Hey Guys!! Support Me in my Green Smoothie Challenge! Click on this link below for some freebies!!! Eating this way is a great way to reduce your carbon foot print!
    Green smoothies are a natural way to increase your energy, lose weight, and look younger! And they’re simple and yummy to make! All you need are some fruits, veggies, and a blender. To find out how to take the FREE 3-Day Green Smoothie Mini-Course, click http://www.greensmoothiequeen.com/gogreen/0310ripplemaker and visit The Home of The Green Smoothie Queen to help spread ripples of green health!

  10. You’ll encounter a change in your lifestyle after undergoing this bariatric surgery. Attorney Herman Praszkier states, “You want to know, basically, as much information about the surgeon’s background as you can.
    Some even turn to gastric bypass surgery to battle the bulge.

  11. The option of undergoing Gastric Bypass surgery Los Angeles is not the solution for those kind of people.
    Although special diet and workout plans have been devised for sufferers of this condition, these techniques do not work for all people.
    Get on the path to spiritual growth so you can heal the emotional and external reasons you.

  12. Today, banks often don. Paper documentation is not at all entertained by the
    lenders. Continued.

  13. I am actually pleased to glance at this weblog posts which consists of lots of helpful data, thanks for providing these statistics.

  14. Awesome issues here. I am very glad to look your post.
    Thanks a lot and I’m having a look ahead to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  15. Hi there! This article could not be written much better!
    Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I will send this article to him.

    Pretty sure he’s going to have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

  16. I love what you guys are up too. Such clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve added you guys to our blogroll.

  17. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s
    both educative and amusing, and without a doubt,
    you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is something that not enough folks are speaking
    intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my search for something concerning this.

  18. Bebe says:

    You really make it seem really easy with your presentation however I find this matter to be actually
    one thing which I feel I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very wide for me.

    I’m taking a look forward to your next post, I’ll try to get the hang
    of it!

  19. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an
    established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own
    but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? With thanks

  20. My family members every time say that I am wasting my time
    here at web, however I know I am getting familiarity all
    the time by reading such pleasant articles.

  21. Justina says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this web site needs a lot more attention.
    I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the information!

  22. I have read so many content concerning the blogger lovers however this post is genuinely a
    nice piece of writing, keep it up.

  23. Beatrice says:

    I tend not to leave a response, but I read a few of the remarks here
    Green Books Campaign: The Love-Powered Diet | Weekend Warriors.
    I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Is it simply me or do a few of the remarks look like they are left by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I would like to keep up with you. Could you list of every one of your public sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

