Inspiration Station

If you’re anything like me, sometimes you need a good dose of something inspirational.

Well here you go:

(Not that you asked, but I recommend reading this slowly – to give yourself enough time to let things set in before you move on.)

On that same vein, Steve Jobs’ Stanford commencement speech is a lot like this Holstee Manifesto. It’s inspirational in a jab-you-in-the-side-might-be-exactly-what-you-didn’t-wanna-hear kinda way. If you don’t have time to read the whole thing, here are a few excerpts:

“…you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.”

“Sometimes life hits you in the head with a brick. Don’t lose faith. I’m convinced that the only thing that kept me going was that I loved what I did. You’ve got to find what you love. […] If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle.”

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

“…On the back cover of their final issue was a photograph of an early morning country road, the kind you might find yourself hitchhiking on if you were so adventurous. Beneath it were the words: “Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.” It was their farewell message as they signed off. Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish. And I have always wished that for myself. And now, as you graduate to begin anew, I wish that for you.”

-Steve Jobs

Since college, I have had this theory that there is just not enough room for meaning in everyday life – we are uncomfortable with it for some reason, except with our very close friends or family. I think this is just the type of advice we can easily be uncomfortable with. It’s easy to say, “What does that even mean?”

Or, you can apply it to your life in a very specific way and run with it.

In sum:

Start doing things you love. Stay Hungry. Stay foolish.

PS: TM – thanks for the inspiration. Everyday.  🙂

Tagged , , , ,

48 thoughts on “Inspiration Station

  1. jenibo says:

    I like it. And for the most part, I agree. But if I were to quit my job tomorrow and start doing what I love, I might die of starvation in a few months or I would feel guilty that someone else is paying for me to live. Right? Sometimes, though, I HAVE to act upon the Big Picture, like this post suggests. It’s just not always practical.

  2. click says:

    This website is pretty cool. How can I make one like this !

  3. This blog has got lots of extremely helpful information on it! Thanks for sharing it with me.

  4. Cool post . Thanks for, writing on my blog mate! I will message you some time. I did not realise that!

  5. sabika says:

    How do you make your site look this good. Email me if you want and share your wisdom. .

  6. How come you dont have your website viewable in wap format? Can not view anything in my phone.

  7. How come you do not have your website viewable in mobile format? Can not view anything in my iPhone.

  8. Awesome post ! Thank you for, visiting my blog page dude! I shall email you again! I didnt realise that!

  9. buy leather wallets says:

    Im getting a tiny issue. I cant get my reader to pick up your rss feed, Im using bing reader by the way.

  10. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your website? I am hunting for a good web host and your blog appears to be fast and up all the time

  11. needs says:

    If you could email me with some pointers on how you made this website look like this, Id be appreciative!

  12. The majority of of the comments on this particular weblog dont make sense.

  13. I was basically curious about if you ever considered replacing the page layout of your website? Its well written; I really like what youve got to state. But maybe you can add a a bit more in the way of content so people might connect to it better. You have got an awful lot of text for only having one or two graphics. Maybe you can space it out better?

  14. Most of the comments on this particular blog dont make sense.

  15. Jesus Christ theres lots of spammy comments on this webpage. Have you actually believed about trying to remove them or putting in a extension?

  16. After I start your Feed it seems to be a ton of nonsense, is the issue on my part?

  17. Do youve got a spam issue on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we now have developed some great strategies and we are looking to trade options with other individuals, be certain to shoot me an e-mail if serious.

  18. A insightful post right there mate . Thanks for it .

  19. skyriver says:

    Odd , your site turns up with a black color to it, what color is the primary color on your webpage?

  20. like i said says:

    Im having a small problem. I cant get my reader to pick-up your rss feed, Im using aol reader by the way.

  21. I was basically wanting to know if you ever considered switching the layout of your site? It is very well written; I enjoy what youve got to state. But maybe you can create a a bit more in the way of content so people could connect to it better. You have got an awful lot of text for only having one or two photos. Maybe you can space it out better?

  22. Strange , this post turns up with a black color to it, what shade is the primary color on your webpage?

  23. quite helpful material, all in all I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks

  24. Heya, I just hopped over to your site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might generally read, but I enjoyed your views none the less. Thanks for creating some thing worthy of reading.

  25. Nice post . Thank you for, writing on this blog page dude! I shall message you again. I didnt know that!

  26. this month says:

    If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your site? I am hunting for a good host and your website seams to be fast and up just about all the time

  27. I tried viewing your blog on my cellphone and the page layout doesnt seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not working with your web page.

  28. like says:

    Do you might have a spam problem on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your situation; we have created some great techniques and were looking to exchange solutions with other individuals, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  29. e cigarettes says:

    A lot of of the commentary on this site dont make sense.

  30. pip rebate says:

    When I open up your Feed it appears to be a ton of junk, is the issue on my part?

  31. Jesus Christ theres plenty of spammy comments on this page. Have you ever thought about trying to remove them or installing a tool?

  32. Have you considered including several social bookmarking links to these sites. At least for bebo.

  33. I Am Going To have to come back again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am getting your Feed so i could go through your internet site offline. Thanks.

  34. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your web site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to state. But maybe you can create a little more in the way of written content so people could connect to it better. Youve got a great deal of text for only having one or two photos. Maybe you can space it out better?

  35. jump button says:

    While I genuinely like this post, I believe there was an spelling error near towards the end of the third sentence.

  36. Re: The person who created the statement that this was a great site genuinely needs to possess their head evaluated.

  37. I Will have to come back again when my course load lets up – however I am taking your Rss feed so i can read your internet site offline. Cheers.

  38. webaddress says:

    This blog site is really cool! How was it made !

  39. Hello, I just hopped over to your webpage via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would usually browse, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thanks for making something worthy of reading through.

  40. This is really a amazing site, could you be interested in working on an interview concerning just how you created it? If so e-mail myself!

  41. While I truly like this publish, I think there was an punctuational error shut towards the finish of the 3rd section.

  42. pretty beneficial stuff, all round I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

  43. sponsor says:

    Have you given any thought at all with converting your current website in to Spanish? I know a few of translaters right here that will would help you do it for free if you wanna make contact with me.

  44. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Rss feed is not functioning today. I tried adding it to my Bing reader account but got nothing.

  45. While I truly like this publish, I think there was an spelling error shut towards the end of the 3rd section.

  46. Hi, its pleasant article on the topic of media print, we all be familiar with media is a fantastic source of information.

  47. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact waas a amusement account it.
    Look advanced tto far added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

  48. Do you have a spam issue on this website;
    I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation;we have
    created some nice prrocedures and we are looking to trade techniques with others,
    please shoot me an email if interested.

Leave a Reply

